Baptist Union Incorporation Act 1923

In the year 1882 ‘The Baptist Union of New Zealand’ was formed.

In 1923 an Act to incorporate The Baptist Union of New Zealand was enacted by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament. This is known as the Baptist Union Incorporation Act 1923 and can be viewed on the New Zealand Legislation website here.

Schedule 1 of the Act contains six ‘Articles of faith’ which are the basis of all Baptist churches in New Zealand that are part of the Baptist Union of New Zealand:

Articles of faith

  1. The inspiration of the Bible and its authority in all matters of faith and practice.
  2. The true humanity and Deity of the Lord Jesus Christ.
  3. The atonement made by our Lord on the Cross for the sin of the world.
  4. Salvation by faith in Christ alone.
  5. Membership in the Christian Church for the regenerate.
  6. The immersion of believers as the only scriptural form of baptism.

Constitution and rules

Schedule 2 of the Act contains an outdated version of the Constitution and rules of the Baptist Union of New Zealand. The current version updated November 2023 can be viewed as a PDF here.